Please visit the SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION WEBSITE to apply.  Note that previous years application forms will not be accepted.

Health Focus administers scholarships annually to health career students. The funds are generated from grants and private endowment funds, and aid students from southwest Virginia. Our scholarship awards are based primarily on financial need and potential for completing a health career program.

Application Deadline Date: April 21, 2021.


Health Focus Scholarship Details

  • Academic Requirements: GPA must be 3.0 or better before being considered and student must be already accepted into a healthcare program.  

  • Range of ages for prior recipients: 17 years old to 52 years old

  • Number of Schools: an average of 20 schools annually participate

  • Total Awards, 1966-Present: Over $3.9 million to over 5,000 students


Recent Scholarship Cycle (2020-2021 Academic Year)

  • Total amount given: $17,600

  • Applicants: 40 total applications.

  • Awards: 20 scholarship awards were given.

Awarding Process

Our program is unique in that we track our students after they are awarded a scholarship to ensure they graduate from the medical program we helped fund.


Scholarship awards are based primarily on financial need, potential for completing a health career program, sincerity of personal statement, and availability of scholarship funds for the applicant.  Funds are awarded to residents of Southwest Virginia who attend a college or university in the state of Virginia. There are few funds available for others. Students will be notified by mail or email whether awarded or denied.


For more information, contact Laurie Gibbons, CEO at or (540) 444-2925. Award checks are mailed directly to the school.  Scholarships may be used for tuition, books, uniforms, and miscellaneous fees.


Endowment Funds

The majority of awards are granted from endowed funds whose interest is available for annual distribution.  Additional scholarships may be given from one-time grants according to the donors specifications.



Annual Grants Awarded

In 2020-2021 grants were awarded from the following scholarship funds:

  • Nannie Ruth Brown Beavers

  • Arnold R. Burton

  • Jessie Lumsden Caldwell, RN

  • Delta Dental of Virginia Foundation

  • Keith and Martha Edmunds Memorial

  • Judith Fancher Hagadorn

  • James G. Hall, RN Memorial

  • Clara Optiz Hall Memorial

  • Ella Trevey Hester Memorial and Donna Gautier Honorary

  • F. Staley Hester Jr.
  • Wallace S. Klien, Jr Memorial

  • Babe & Sidney Louis (Hyatt) Memorial

  • Shirley T. Murray, RN Memorial

  • Robert T. Picket Memorial

  • Salem Presbyterian Church

  • Salem Rotary Club

  • Ruth B. Thurman, RN Memorial

  • George R. Vaughn, DDS Memorial

  • David G. Williamson Memorial

Line of graduates in the sunset.jpg


Fields of Study Awarded in Recent Years

  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing

  • Dental Hygiene

  • Doctor of Dental Surgery

  • Doctor of Medicine

  • Doctor of Osteopathy

  • Doctor of Pharmacy

  • Doctor of Physical Therapy

  • Health & Exercise Science

  • Healthcare Management

  • Licensed Practical Nurse

  • Medical Assistant

  • Master of Science in Occupational Therapy

  • Master of Public Health

  • Nurse Practitioner

  • Occupational Therapy Assistant

  • Physician Assistant

  • Paramedic

  • Radiology Technician

  • Registered Nurse

  • Respiratory Therapy

  • Speech Pathology

  • Wound Ostomy & Continence Nurse



Other Program Information

*Both the Applicant Agreement and School Administration Form must be completed before you can submit the online application